Monday, 29 April 2013

Girl Of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

ISBN:  9781408326121
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 384

Girl Of Nightmares is the second book in the Anna series.

Cas Lowood is no ordinary ghost hunter - he's in love with a dead girl. Her name is Anna Korlov. Anna Dressed In Blood. The girl who sacrificed herself to save his life. Racked with guilt, Cas sets out to do what he does best - hunt a ghost. But this time his aim is not to kill. He must rescue Anna from the depths of Hell. But Hell is also home to a creature Cas has battled before...Just your average boy meets girl, girl gets sucked into hell story.

Although I enjoyed reading Girl Of Nightmares as much as Anna Dressed In Blood, (the first book in the series), I found it harder to get into the second book. This was probably because unlike the first book in the series, this book seemed to only focus on one plotline throughout rather than having different small plots run alongside, like in Anna Dressed In Blood. Girl Of Nightmares was also more serious  and solemn than the previous book. As with Anna Dressed In Blood, my favourite character was Cas, because of his bravery and stubbornness. I also quite liked reading about one of the new characters, Jestine, and her views on Cas' ghost hunting! I love the cover of Girl Of Nightmares! It is inkeeping with the previous book, it doesn't give too much of the plot away, and is quite eye catching!

Available at Amazon.com & Amazon.co.uk.

Saturday, 27 April 2013

Promotion: Frost Arch by Kate Bloomfield

Frost Arch
By Kate Bloomfield

Frost Arch is the first book in The Fire Mage series.

In a future where ignorance has destroyed the world that we know, humans are slaves and Mages - advanced beings with abilities beyond everyday reach - rule the land.

Avalon Redding is one such Mage. Barely eighteen years of age, she wields the gift of fire yet she is unable to control it. She leaves her family in the dead of night and heads to the city of Frost Arch, her future seemingly grim.

Will Avalon be able to overcome the trials that befall her? Will she be able to save the ones she loves and stay strong within herself?

Time will tell.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Kate Bloomfield

Kate Bloomfield has written Frost Arch, Flamethroat, Falling Ashes and Alpha Girl.


1. What is your name and where do you call home?
Hello! My name is Kate Bloomfield. Though I was born in London England, I have lived near Sydney, Australia for most of my life.

2. Do you have a pen name?
I do, but I’ll never tell. That’s the name I post my ‘naughty’ stories under.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
My fifth book, Alpha Girl, is due for release on April 1st. It’s a student/teacher Paranormal Romance. Not for those easily offended!

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, it is! Alpha Girl is book one of the Wolfling Saga

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I decided I wanted to be a writer after I finished the first Harry Potter book at age ten. Joanne Rowling is my idol.

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?             
Absolutely. I hold giveaways through facebook, twitter, goodreads, and my blog.

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I design all of my own book covers using Royalty Free stock that is either gifted, or purchased. I trained as a graphic designer, so I have the skills necessary to create amazing covers.

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
I’d have to say it’s a tie between Falling Ashes and Alpha Girl


9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
Well, if there is, then I could always do it myself. That’s the great thing about designing my own covers; I am in control.

10. Do you have a playlist in mind for any of your books?  
I imagine a lot of grunge, indie, and raw music would suit Alpha Girl

11. Did you listen to any particular songs whilst writing your books?
I listen to a lot of classical music while I write. I find it helps soothe me. However, if I’m writing something particularly exciting, like an action scene, I’ll listen to rock music.

12. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
No, I think consistency is important so a book can be recognisable no matter where you shop.

13. How did you come up with the title for your book?
Most of the time I really have to think hard about my book titles. I’ve even held competitions in the past to name my books. However Alpha Girl has had its name since day one. It just made sense. If you read the novel, you’ll understand why.

14. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
One of the perks of being an indie author is that I get to write whatever I please, and if I want to change, delete, or add content, I can do so. There have been times where I’ve thought to myself, ‘Oh no, I should have added this to the novel!’ so I just go ahead and do it.

15. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
I love book trailers IF they are done correctly. I can’t stand those dodgy Windows Movie Maker videos with tacky fonts and still images. I guess it irks my designer side. An amazing book trailer is: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. That is my idea of a good book trailer. I’d love to have a trailer of equal quality for my novels. Unfortunately, being an indie author, my budget does not allow it.

16. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
As an indie author, eBooks are the easiest, most cost effective way to go. Of course, it’s my dream to have my book in print in stores across the world.

17. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
Yes, I am

18. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
I’ve read the entire Harry Potter series through at least twenty times.

19. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
Yes, I guess it’s the designer inside me. I’ve been known to collect and buy books purely based on their cover. I love attractive designs.

20. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Guilty. I do judge books by their covers.

21. What is your favourite book genre at the moment?
I’ve never been much of a romance reader, but lately I find myself trawling through the ‘taboo’ romance categories.

22. If you could invite any four celebrities (alive or dead) to your dinner party, who would you invite and why?
Easy.  First, Joanne Rowling, as she is my absolute idol.
Second, the actor Tom Hiddleston, who I have a desperate crush on.
I’d have to include Stephen Fry, because he is absolutely brilliant, and perhaps Hugh Jackman, simply because he is gorgeous.

23. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
Don’t let the bad reviews get you down. Not everyone will love your work. There will always be a negative Nancy trying to ruin you.

24. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
I design, sculpt, paint, and knit. I drink a lot of tea, and get lots of tattoos.

25. Where can your readers follow you?

Official Website: www.bloomfieldkate.com









Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Monday, 15 April 2013

Promotion: Indelible by Dawn Metcalf

Indelible 
By Dawn Metcalf

Indelible is the first book in The Twixt series.

Some things are permanent.

Indelible.

And they cannot be changed back.

Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room - right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world - a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one - his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future...and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

Promotion: The Morning Star by Tania Penn

The Morning Star
By Tania Penn

Being the daughter of Lucifer keeps seventeen year old Dawn Belial busy. For almost her entire lifetime, she has been trying to think of a way to free her Archangel mother, Michaela, whom her father has held captive for centuries. She's also attending high school - balancing trigonometry, history, and recruiting souls for her father along with her wicked half-sister, Venus.

There has been no time for love until she meets mysterious Gabriel, a British exchange student. As they fall in love against their will, she discovers a startling secret about him, and a shocking connection to her mother that changes everything.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Tania Penn

Tania Penn has written The Morning Star.


1. What is your name and where do you call home?
Tania Penn - Gig Harbor, Washington

2. Do you have a pen name?
Penn is my name and pen name!

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
Forbidden love between Lucifer's daughter, Dawn, and a mysterious boy with a connection to Dawn's imprisoned Archangel mother, Michaela.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, I am currently writing book 2, "Equinox," with plans for it to be a trilogy.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I have been writing, drawing, and playing music since I was about four years old.  I definitely take after my daddy :)

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
Most definitely!

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I wanted something simple, red and black.  My husband, Michael Hernandez, who happens to be a Production Designer with Dreamworks Animation designed it for me.  I'm a lucky gal!

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
So far, this is my first published book and cover, so it's my favorite :)  Although, for the sci-fi book I am currently writing, he did an amazing one for it!

9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
Not a thing.  My husband is a pro!

10. Do you have a playlist in mind for any of your books?  
Oh yes, and as a musician, music is very much an important part.

11. Did you listen to any particular songs whilst writing your books?
The playlist I put together for each story.

12. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
Good question, it's something I never thought about.  I suppose I would though.

13. How did you come up with the title for your book?
I went through several titles - Hell's Angel, Rebel Angel, Hell's Belle, but none of them seemed to fit.  I  also wanted something that represented Lucifer, Dawn and Venus - Lucifer being the "Light Bringer" or "Morning Star,"   Dawn being "First Light,"  and Venus does in fact mean "Morning Star."   The Original title was in fact, "The Morning Light", but I changed it to tie the three together.  Also The Morning Star is representative of a new day or "re-birth," and it's something that happens with Dawn, my main protagonist.

14. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
There may be a few additions I would like to make eventually, but for the most part, I'm happy with how it turned out.

15. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
I created one myself before I even knew there was such a thing as a book trailer, using photo's of the actors who inspired the characters!  I think trailers are a great marketing tool, much like a movie trailer.

16. Do you have a “Dreamcast” in mind for any of your books?
Oh yes, I sure do!

17. What is your opinion of ARCs?
I have yet to send one out, because quite honestly, it's something I just recently found out about, and I'm all for sending out ARC's for my next books!

18. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I have all four, but my favorite is the feel and smell of a paperback.

19. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
Yes, ma'am!

20. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
No, other then re-reading through my books I'm writing to make sure I have everything I want in there!

21. Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of it’s cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)
No.

22. What is your opinion of novellas?
I think they're great…I haven't written one yet, but I'm sure that will change.

23. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
Oh yes.

24. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
If I think the cover looks cheesy, but I like the title, I turn it over to read the blurb on the back to see if that pique's my interest.  Like the old saying, "Never judge a book by it's cover!"

25. What is your favourite film based on a book?
Memoirs of a Geisha was beautiful.

26. What is your favourite book genre at the moment?
It changes daily.  Of course, I'm reading a lot of young adult, since that's what I'm currently writing, but I've always loved mystery and thrillers.

27. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why?
Everything James Patterson!  I'm probably his biggest author-stalker fangirl!

28. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
Right now, I'm reading a friend's and fellow indie chick's book - "Wreck Me," by J.L. Mac.

29. If you could invite any four celebrities (alive or dead) to your dinner party, who would you invite and why?
Elvis Presley, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash and Janis Joplin.  Because I'm also a musician, and that would be one hell of a jam night!!

30. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
My advice:  Write.  Write some more.  Read a little.  Drink some wine.  Write again.  Repeat!   The best advice given to me:  Once you finish, write something else.

31. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
Kayaking, snowboarding, traveling,  hiking, archery, playing guitar and bass, searching for Bigfoot….

31. Where can your readers follow you?


Facebook page: Tania Penn - Author


Twitter: @twistedtanita

Google+:  Tania Penn






Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Monday, 8 April 2013

Promotion: 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil

3:59
By Gretchen McNeil

Josie Byrne's life is spiraling out of control. Her parents are divorcing, her boyfriend Nick has grown distant, and her physics teacher has it in for her. When she's betrayed by the two people she trusts most, Josie thinks things can't get worse.

Until she starts having dreams about a girl named Jo. Every night at the same time - 3:59 a.m.

Jo's life is everything Josie wants: she's popular, her parents are happily married, and Nick adores her. It all seems real, but they're just dreams, right? Josie thinks so, until she wakes one night to a shadowy image of herself in the bedroom mirror – Jo.

Josie and Jo realize that they are doppelgängers living in parallel universes that overlap every twelve hours at exactly 3:59. Fascinated by Jo's perfect world, Josie jumps at the chance to jump through the portal and switch places for a day.

But Jo’s world is far from perfect. Not only is Nick not Jo's boyfriend, he hates her. Jo's mom is missing, possibly insane. And at night, shadowy creatures feed on human flesh.

By the end of the day, Josie is desperate to return to her own life. But there’s a problem: Jo has sealed the portal, trapping Josie in this dangerous world. Can she figure out a way home before it’s too late?

From master of suspense Gretchen McNeil comes a riveting and deliciously eerie story about the lives we wish we had – and how they just might kill you.

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Promotion: Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Ten
By Gretchen McNeil

And their doom comes swiftly.

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives – three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, both of which involve Kamiak High’s most eligible bachelor, T.J. Fletcher. But what starts out as a fun-filled weekend turns dark and twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine.

Suddenly, people are dying and the teens are cut off from the outside world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn’t scheduled to return for two days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on each other, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Promotion: Possess by Gretchen McNeil

Possess
By Gretchen McNeil

Fifteen year old Bridget Liu just wants to be left alone: by her mom, by the cute son of a local police sergeant, and by the eerie voices she can suddenly and inexplicably hear. Unfortunately for Bridget, it turns out the voices are demons – and Bridget has the rare ability to banish them back to whatever hell they came from.

Terrified to tell people about her new power, Bridget confides in a local priest who enlists her help in increasingly dangerous cases of demonic possession. But just as she is starting to come to terms with her new power, Bridget receives a startling message from one of the demons. Now Bridget must unlock the secret to the demons' plan before someone close to her winds up dead – or worse, the human vessel of a demon king.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Gretchen McNeil

Gretchen McNeil has written Possess, Ten & 3:59.


1. What is your name and where do you call home?
Gretchen McNeil, Los Angeles, CA
               
2. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say? 
Ten came out in September 2012. The pitch: Ten teens trapped on an island with a serial killer.

3. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series? 
My next book is called 3:59 and it hits shelves on September 17, 2013. It's sci fi horror about two girls who are the same girl in parallel universes, who discover that their words connect every twelve hours for exactly one minute at 3:59.  When they decide to switch places, all hell breaks loose. Literally.

4. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
Definitely Ten. It perfectly reflects the ominous tone of the book.

5. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers? 
I do! HarperCollins did trailers for both Ten and Possess. I think they're a cool way to visually represent your book and get readers interested.

6. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
Personally? Hardcovers. But I have a healthy collection of both paperbacks and e-books. I find audiobooks problematic, though. I can't concentrate on them.

7. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it? 
I've read several books more than once. Most recently, I reread The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan.

8. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover? 
Yep. I picked up The Daughter Of Smoke And Bone specifically because of the cover.  So glad I did. Freaking amazing.

9. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it? 
I think cover art is so important to hooking a reader. Covers can absolutely make or break your book.

10. What is your favourite film based on a book? 
Pride and Prejudice.

11. What is your favourite book genre at the moment? 
I love spy thrillers. Always have, always will.

12. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why? 
I'm anxiously awaiting the last book in Myra McEntire's Hourglass series!

13. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format? 
At the moment I'm reading several research books on the early 20th century spiritualist movement, both in paperback and on my Kindle.

14. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing? 
The most important piece of advice I can give is that you never "arrive" in this business. When you're starting out you think "If I can just get an agent, I'll be happy." Then "If I can just get a book contract, I'll be happy." But there is no finish line, no stage in your career where you can sit back and relax. There's always the next book, the next series, the next set of deadlines. It's kind of hard to prepare for, to be honest.

15. Where can your readers follow you?









Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Saturday, 6 April 2013

Promotion: Hidden Wings by Cameo Renae

Hidden Wings 
By Cameo Renae

Hidden Wings is the first book in the Hidden Wings series.

Seventeen is a life changing age for Emma Wise.
As her family's sole survivor in a car crash, she is left with a broken arm and a few scrapes and bruises. But these are only outward marks; inside, her heart is broken and the pieces scattered.

Whisked away to Alaska, to an aunt she’s never met, Emma starts over. Secrets unveil themselves and now…she doesn't even know who or what she is.

A centuries old prophecy places Emma in the heart of danger. Creatures of horrifying and evil proportions are after her, and it will take Emma, her aunt, and six, gorgeously captivating Guardians to keep her safe. But, if she can survive until her eighteenth birthday... things will change.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Wednesday, 3 April 2013

April 2013's New Releases!

Myself and my mum (from JeanzBookReadNReview) have decided to use this feature each month to spotlight some books, whether they be "Mainstream" or "Indie", that have caught our eye!

Zombies Don't Forgive
By Rusty Fischer

Zombies Don't Forgive will be released on the 1st of April.

Following Barracuda Bay’s homecoming come zombie Armageddon, fellow zombies Maddy, Dane, and Stamp have fled to Orlando where they work at a theme park, hiding in plain sight at their jobs in the Great Movie Monster Makeover show. The three spend most of their time together in their apartment trying to avoid curious Normals and Sentinels - humans and zombie cops. While Dane and Maddy draw closer, Stamp drifts away, falling for a mysterious blonde. But when the mysterious girl puts their existence in danger, all Maddy cares about is hunting the blonde down to separate her from her head.

Zombies Don't Forgive is the second book in Rusty Fischer's Living Dead Love Story series. I have read (and will soon be reviewing!) the first book in the series, Zombies Don't Cry, which myself and my mum, (from JeanzBookReadNReview) received for review from the author himself!

Alpha Girl
By Kate Bloomfield

Alpha Girl will be released on the 1st of April.

Seventeen year old Rose Goldman is highly unpopular in the little town of Halfway. Ever since the 'attack' when she was a little girl, people and animals have been afraid of her. She gets bullied in school, and called 'wet dog' because of the way she smells, despite being extremely hygienic. However, life takes a turn when a new teacher starts at Halfway High. Mr. Stone, the quirky and charismatic English teacher is twice Rose's age, but she feels an unexplainable pull towards him from day one. Despite her better judgement, Rose pursues a friendship with Mr. Stone, who seems unable to stay away from her. What is pulling this unlikely pair together?

I spotted this title on Goodreads, when I asked Kate Bloomfield if she would do an author interview for this site. I really liked the sound of Alpha Girl & loved the cover!

Stung
By Bethany Wiggins

Stung will be released on the 2nd of April.

There is no cure for being stung.

Fiona doesn’t remember going to sleep. But when she opens her eyes, she discovers her entire world has been altered - her house is abandoned and broken, and the entire neighborhood is barren and dead. Even stranger is the tattoo on her right hand - a black oval with five marks on either side - that she doesn’t remember getting but somehow knows she must cover at any cost. She’s right.

Those bearing the tattoo have turned into mindless, violent beasts that roam the streets and sewers, preying upon the unbranded while a select few live protected inside a fortress like wall, their lives devoted to rebuilding society and killing all who bear the mark.
Now Fiona has awakened branded, alone - and on the wrong side of the wall. 

I originally came across Stung on Netgalley, where it caught my eye because of its strange & simple cover!

In The Shadow Of Blackbirds
By Cat Winters

In The Shadow Of Blackbirds will be released on the 2nd of April.

In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen year old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate mourners flock to sĂ©ances and spirit photographers for comfort, but she herself has never believed in ghosts. During her bleakest moment, however, she’s forced to rethink her entire way of looking at life and death, for her first love - a boy who died in battle - returns in spirit form. But what does he want from her?

In The Shadow Of Blackbirds was another title I originally spotted on Netgalley! This title caught my eye mainly because of its Mary Shelley reference.

Nameless
By Lili St Crow

Nameless will be released on the 4th of April.

When Camille was six years old, she was discovered alone in the snow by Enrico Vultusino, godfather of the Seven - the powerful Families that rule magic ridden New Haven. Papa Vultusino adopted the mute, scarred child, naming her after his dead wife and raising her in luxury on Haven Hill alongside his own son, Nico.

Now Cami is turning sixteen. She’s no longer mute, though she keeps her faded scars hidden under her school uniform, and though she opens up only to her two best friends, Ruby and Ellie, and to Nico, who has become more than a brother to her. But even though Cami is a pampered Vultusino heiress, she knows that she is not really Family. Unlike them, she is a mortal with a past that lies buried in trauma. And it’s not until she meets the mysterious Tor, who reveals scars of his own, that Cami begins to uncover the secrets of her birth…to find out where she comes from and why her past is threatening her now.


I found Lili St Crow's Nameless via Netgalley, and had never fully read the blurb until doing this post! I loved the cover and had heard great reviews of Lili St Crow's previous books, so I didn't really need to fully read the blurb in order to add Nameless to my wishlist!

Strangelets
By Michelle Gagnon

Strangelets will be released on the 9th of April.

All three strangers should have died at the exact same moment, thousands of miles apart. Instead, they awaken together in an abandoned hospital - only to discover that they’re not alone. Three other teens from different places on the globe are trapped with them. Somebody or something seems to be pulling the strings. With their individual clocks ticking, they must band together if they’re to have any hope of surviving. 
 
Soon they discover that they've been trapped in a future that isn't of their making: a deadly, desolate world at once entirely familiar and utterly strange. Each teen harbors a secret, but only one holds the key that could get them home. As the truth comes to light through the eyes of Sophie, Declan, and Anat, the reader is taken on a dark and unforgettable journey into the hearts of teens who must decide what to do with a second chance at life.

I found out about Strangelets via the publisher, Soho Teen, and thought it sounded quite different & unusual.

Awakening 
By Karen Sandler

Awakening will be released on the 9th of April.

Once a GEN (genetically engineered nonhuman) girl terrified of her first Assignment, Kayla is now a member of the Kinship, a secret organization of GENs, lowborns, and trueborns. Kayla travels on Kinship business, collecting information to further the cause of GEN freedom.

Despite Kayla’s relative freedom, she is still a slave to the trueborn ruling class. She rarely sees trueborn Devak, and any relationship between them is still strictly forbidden.

Kayla longs to be truly free, but other priorities have gotten in the way. A paradoxically deadly new virus has swept through GEN sectors - a disease only GENs catch. And GEN warrens and warehouses are being bombed, with only a scrawled clue: F.H.E. Freedom, Humanity, Equality.

With the virus and the bombings decimating the GEN community, freedom and love are put on the back burner as Kayla and her friends find a way to stop the killing . . . before it’s too late.

I loved reading Tankborn, the previous book in this series - which was one of the first titles I discovered & requested on Netgalley! As soon as I heard that there was going to be a second book, I checked Goodreads & added it to my wishlist!

Taken
By Erin Bowman

Taken will be released on the 16th of April.

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys - but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate - until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot - a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken - or risk everything on the hope of the other side?


This title originally caught my eye (via Goodreads) because of its beautiful, vibrant cover! I quite like the sound of Taken, to me it seems to be a bit of a cross between The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan & The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

The After Girls
By Leah Konen

The After Girls will be released on the 18th of April.

Ella, Astrid, and Sydney were planning the perfect summer after high school graduation. But when Astrid commits suicide in a lonely cabin, the other girls' worlds are shattered. How could their best friend have done this - to herself and to them? They knew everything about Astrid. Shouldn't they have seen this coming? Couldn't they have saved her?

As Ella hunts for the truth, and Sydney tries to dull the pain, a chilling message from Astrid leaves them wondering whether their beloved friend is communicating from the after life. The girls embark on a journey to uncover Astrid's dark secrets. The answers to those questions - questions they never dreamed of asking - will change their lives forever.

My mum (from JeanzBookReadNReview) told me about this title that she had found on Netgalley. She thought I might like it because it reminded her of the Pretty Little Liars TV series that we had watched part of, and it also reminded her a bit of Torn by Cat Clarke that I had read & reviewed.

Hot Blooded
By Amanda Carlson

Hot Blooded will be released on the 23rd of April.

It hasn't been the best week for Jessica McClain.

Her mate has been kidnapped by a Goddess hell-bent on revenge - but Jessica is playing for keeps.

Because she's the only female werewolf in town...it comes with its own set of rules...and powers.

Aided by two vamps, two loyal Pack members, and one very reluctant human, Jessica must rescue her man while coming to terms with what being a wolf really means.

All in a day's work for a girl.


Amanda Carlson's Hot Blooded caught my eye as I had read and really enjoyed the previous book, Full Blooded, and the novella / prequel, Blooded, and couldn't resist adding this one to my wishlist!

The Elite 
By Kiera Cass

The Elite will be released on the 23rd of April.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over - and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.


This title caught my eye as The Elite is the sequel to The Selection, which myself and my mum each spotted on Netgalley & Edelweiss, and each read and loved! This title also caught my eye because of the rich, vibrant colours on the cover which I love!

The Ward
By Jordana Frankel

The Ward will be releases on the 30th of April.

Sixteen year old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.


I found The Ward via Goodreads, and was drawn to it because of its dramatic cover and dystopian genre.

The Program
By Suzanne Young

The Program will be released on the 30th of April.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone - but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.


I have had The Program by Suzanne Young on my Goodreads wishlist for a while now, I initially spotted it on a fellow blogger's site, then I came across it again in the form of a countdown on Petra's site, the Safari Poet! From the blurb it reminds me a bit of Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Have any of April 2013's New Releases caught your eye?