Wednesday, 18 September 2013

Promotion: Eladria by Rory B. Mackay

By Rory B. Mackay

A dire prophecy is fulfilled when Tahnadra’s royal moon is attacked and overthrown by religious extremists. Forced to flee for her life, Princess Eladria, now a fugitive in her own land, finds herself embroiled in a sinister experiment that threatens to destroy her world and countless others. 

With the barriers between dimensions rapidly collapsing, Eladria learns she must travel to the forbidden land of Drantak, where a dark and ravenous force seeks to unleash its fury on a universe it was long ago banished from.

Available at &

Author Interview: Rory B. Mackay

Rory B. Mackay has written Eladria.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
My name is Rory Mackay and I live in the North East of Scotland, where I've lived most of my life. It's nice here. But cold!

2. Do you have a pen name?
No, I just use my own.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
My first novel is called Eladria and is published in May 2013. It's a science-fiction/fantasy/YA adventure about a young princess who finds herself a fugitive in a dying world, forced to embark upon a journey that takes her to the very brink of the human experience.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes! While Eladria can be read as a largely self-contained novel, it's also a prelude to a series of novels titled The Alanar Ascedent. The first book in this series is called The Key of Alanar and is already written (it was actually written before Eladria) and should hopefully be released next year.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I was creative from a young age. I remember coming up with fantasy worlds, characters and stories when I was only about six or seven years old. I loved to play by myself and act out all kinds of adventures from my fantasy worlds. It wasn't until I was in high school, around 16 years old, that I started to develop the stories and characters that would form the basis of my books. At that point I was inspired by pretty much anything and everything; books and comic books I was reading as well as and films and TV that I loved. I also had some good teachers who really encouraged me when it came to writing, which helped give me the confidence to begin. Of course, from those humble beginnings it was a long time before I got my head together and finished my first novel. I'm a slow worker!

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
I certainly do. If anyone would like a review copy, please let me know. 

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
The cover was designed by my publisher but I had some input in the process. What I love is that the picture perfectly captures the likeness I had in my head of the title character, Eladria. She's beautiful but quite fierce, headstrong and determined. I think it's a powerful and eye-catching cover, so I'm pleased with it.

8. Do you have a playlist in mind for any of your books?
Even better - I composed my own soundtrack for the book. I create electronic music, mainly very ambient chilled-out stuff, so I decided I would challenge myself to create a soundtrack. The soundtrack covers most of the important parts of the book and was initially inspired by music such as Vangelis's Blade Runner soundtrack. I don't know if it sounds anything like that, but it captures the drama and also some of the serene, quieter moments. It will be available as a free download to anyone who buys the book as a gift to my readers.

9. Did you listen to any particular songs whilst writing your books?
If I listen to music when I'm writing, it's generally instrumental, downtempo, usually electronic music. I find anything too loud or with vocals is distracting. When I'm editing I can listen to a wider range of music. For this novel, I listened to a lot of Klaus Schulze, Brian Eno, Vangelis, Ulrich Schanuss, Solar Fields and Sigur Ros.

10. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
I'm a bit of a perfectionist, I find it hard to finish any project because I'm always tinkering with details and trying to make every last element perfect, if there even is such a thing. But I'm very pleased with Eladria and whenever I read over it, particularly the climatic chapters, I'm very proud of it.

11. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
I do, I just created it last week ( I've seen some amazing book trailers. I think short and snappy is best, so that's what I aimed for. 

12. Do you have a “Dreamcast” in mind for any of your books?
I don't actually. I've been told by many people that my books would make great movies as they are very cinematic. As I wrote them I saw them as movies in my mind. I find it hard to match up my characters with actors and actresses as I have quite specific ideas of who they are and what they look like. If it ever did get made into a feature film, I'd like to be surprised - and hopefully delighted! - by casting choices.

13. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I've always preferred paperbacks for some reason. Hardbacks look better but are heavier. I kind of like reading in the bath (which is sometimes a disaster, as books have been known to accidentally join me in the tub!), so paperbacks are fine and light. I was initially resistant to ebooks - too much of a romanticist perhaps - but I now find I enjoy reading certain types of book on my iPad. They've won me over. 

14. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
No, I was lucky enough to find a publisher willing to take on my first novel. It did take many years of searching though. It is something I might consider in the future though.

15. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
I frequently do, but I'm more likely to re-read nonfiction more than once as opposed to fiction. I guess I like the element of surprise and not-knowing when it comes to fiction, which is lost on a reread. However, if a book is well-written it'll still be an enjoyable experience and you may notice details and layers of depth you didn't pick up on the first time.

16. What is your opinion of novellas?
I like them. It all depends on fitting the needs of the story into the most appropriate medium - short story, novella, or novel. The story should dictate how long it needs to be. It should be an organic process I think; these things can't be forced or coerced!

17. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
I don't know if I've read a book based solely on its cover, but there certainly have been books that caught my attention solely because of a stunning cover. Once a book has caught my attention, I'll then read the blurb and dip into it to see whether or not it's for me. I also like being able to read reviews first so I can have a clearer idea of what to expect. I guess I like to hedge my bets.

18. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Yes. If a book has a really poor cover, I tend to either consciously or unconsciously assume the content isn't going to be up to very much either. Which may not be the case, of course. But if a cover looks cheap and nasty or is badly designed it can be an offputting first impression.

19. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
I am about to read a short story called Gyaros Book Zero by Rohan and Alex Healy (a prequel to their first novel) and The Earth Shifter by Lada Ray, both in ebook format. 

20. If you could invite any four celebrities (alive or dead) to your dinner party, who would you invite and why?
Oh what a cool question! I am very much into Eastern philosophy and they aren't celebrities as such but I'd probably invite Lao Tzu, Buddha and Shankara to discuss the nature of life and enlightenment and I'd also bring along Leonardo da Vinci as I've always been fascinated by his creativity and genius. That would be one interesting dinner party.

21. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
Have a plan for your book. Learn about the structure of stories and how to let your characters grow and develop as the story unfolds. I spent a number of years learning the theory before I was ready to put it into practise. I think that helped me a lot, I'd have stumbled down all kinds of blind alleys otherwise - although that's also a great way to learn. Find a story that captivates you, that you feel you absolutely *need* to tell and share with the world, and then just keep writing. And editing. And editing again. Keep the love of what you're doing alive, and don't give up when you run into the inevitable setbacks and frustrations. 

22. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
I'm also an artist and also create music as I mentioned. 

23. Where can your readers follow you?

Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Flying Blind by Deborah Cooke

ISBN: 9780749040628
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Pages: 380

Flying Blind is the first book in The Dragon Diaries series.

Zoë Sorensson is perfectly normal, except she's been told she's destined for great things. Zoë's the one female dragon shapeshifter of her kind. But Zoë is at the bottom of the class when it comes to being Pyr and her powers are AWOL, so she's sent to a Pyr boot camp.

Zoë quickly realizes that she has to master her powers yesterday, because the Pyr are in danger and boot camp is a trap. The Mages want to eliminate all shifters and the Pyr are next in line-unless Zoë and her friends can work together and save their own kind.

I really enjoyed reading Flying Blind by Deborah Cooke! I loved reading about the concept of the Pyr, which are basically dragon shapeshifters! Flying Blind is written from Zoe's perspective, which is quite interesting as she is the only female Pyr. Initially Zoe is concerned more with the human aspects of her life, such as socialising and school, than in her Pyr heritage, so the reader learns about the Pyr along with Zoe. Whilst learning about the Pyr with Zoe was quite interesting at times, unfortunately it didn't make me warm up to her as a character. As a result of this, even though I really enjoyed the story, I didn't have a favourite character. I also liked reading about the mages, which are considered as the dragon hunters, and how they differed from the Pyr with their traditions, attitudes and powers .

Available at &

Monday, 16 September 2013

Promotion: Risk by Samantha Grady

By Samantha Grady

Risk is the first book in the Risk series.

When Jonah was eighteen he took a risk. 
A risk that changed his life. 
When Olivia was sixteen someone else took a risk. 
A risk that changed her life. 
Jonah wants out of a life he never wanted to be a part of.
Olivia wants something more out of life. 

When Jonah meets Olivia he knows he is no good for a girl like her but he just can’t stay away. Trouble is Jonah is mixed up in a bad business. Bringing Olivia into his life would mean lies, secrets and possible danger. Can Jonah take that risk?

When Olivia meets Jonah it’s love at first sight. From the start Olivia has a feeling Jonah is hiding a big secret and since the death of her brother Olivia leaves no room for secrets in her life. Can Olivia risk letting go of a past event to find love with Jonah? 

While Jonah struggles with the decision to bring Olivia into his life or not a rival business brings back someone from Olivia’s past that will put Jonah and ultimately Olivia in life threatening danger. 

Available at &

Tuesday, 3 September 2013

Promotion: Relic by Renee Collins

By Renee Collins

After a raging fire consumes her town and kills her parents, Maggie Davis is on her own to protect her younger sister and survive best she can in the Colorado town of Burning Mesa. In Maggie’s world, the bones of long-extinct magical creatures such as dragons and sirens are mined and traded for their residual magical elements, and harnessing these relics’ powers allows the user to wield fire, turn invisible, or heal even the worst of injuries.

Working in a local saloon, Maggie befriends the spirited showgirl Adelaide and falls for the roguish cowboy Landon. But when she proves to have a particular skill at harnessing the relics’ powers, Maggie is whisked away to the glamorous hacienda of Álvar Castilla, the wealthy young relic baron who runs Burning Mesa. Though his intentions aren’t always clear, Álvar trains Maggie in the world of relic magic. But when the mysterious fires reappear in their neighboring towns, Maggie must discover who is channeling relic magic for evil before it’s too late.

Available at

Monday, 2 September 2013

September 2013's New Releases

Myself and my mum (from JeanzBookReadNReview) have decided to use this feature each month to spotlight some books, whether they be "Mainstream" or "Indie", that have caught our eye!

By Lee Strauss & Elle Strauss

Perception will be released on the 1st of September.

Seventeen year old Zoe Vanderveen is a GAP - a genetically altered person. She lives in the security of a walled city on prime water-front property along-side other equally beautiful people with extended life spans.

Her brother Liam is missing.

Noah Brody is a natural who lives on the outside. He leads protests against the GAPs and detests the widening chasm they’ve created between those who have and those who don’t. He doesn’t like girls like Zoe and he has good reason not to like her specifically.

Zoe’s carefree life takes a traumatic turn. She’s in trouble and it turns out that Noah, the last guy on earth she should trust, is the only one who can help her.

This Is How I Find Her
By Sara Polsky

This Is How I Find Her will be released on the 1st of September.

Sophie Canon has just started her junior year when her mother tries to kill herself. Sophie has always lived her life in the shadow of her mother's bipolar disorder, monitoring her medication, rushing home after school to check on her instead of spending time with friends, and keeping her mother's diagnosis secret from everyone outside their family. 

But when the overdose lands Sophie's mother in the hospital, Sophie no longer has to watch over her. She moves in with her aunt, uncle, and cousin, from whom she has been estranged for the past five years. Rolling her suitcase across town to her family's house is easy. What's harder is figuring out how to build her own life.

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown
By Holly Black

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown will be released on the 3rd of September.

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Woken Gods
By Gwenda Bond

The Woken Gods will be released on the 3rd of September.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn't what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne "Oz" Spencer, a young Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous Egyptian relic. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in her protests that she knows nothing about it or her father's secrets.

Sweet Legacy
By Tera Lynn Childs

Sweet Legacy, the third book in the Medusa Girls series, will be released on the 3rd of September.

Greer has always known she was privileged, though she had no idea how special her second sight made her, even among her triplet monster-fighting sisters. But when a god starts playing with her mind, can Greer step up in her pretty high heels to prevent anything from stopping her sisters’ mission?

Grace loves her adopted brother, Thane, but now that he’s back and has joined her sisters’ team, it’s clear his past is full of dark mysteries. She wants to trust him, but will Thane’s secret put the girls in even more danger?

Gretchen knows she can rely on her sisters to help her stop the monsters. But after getting to know some of the beasties in the abyss, she finds her role as a huntress comes with more responsibility than she ever imagined. How can she know what her birthright demands of her now?

The Edge Of Normal
By Carla Norton

The Edge Of Normal will be released on the 10th of September.

In many ways, Reeve LeClaire looks like a typical twenty-two year old girl. She’s finally landed her own apartment, she waitresses to pay the bills, and she wishes she wasn’t so nervous around new people. She thinks of herself as agile, not skittish. As serious, not grim. But Reeve is anything but normal.

Ten years ago, she was kidnapped and held captive. After a lucky escape, she’s spent the last six years trying to rebuild her life, a recovery thanks in large part to her indispensable therapist Dr. Ezra Lerner. But when he asks her to help another girl rescued from a similar situation, Reeve realizes she may not simply need to mentor this young victim - she may be the only one who can protect her from a cunning predator who is still out there, watching every move.

By Kendare Blake

Antigoddess will be released on the 10th of September.

He was Apollo, the sun, and he'd burn down anything that tried to hurt her... Cassandra and Aidan are just your average high-school couple. Or so Cassandra believes. Blissfully unaware that she was once a powerful prophetess, Cassandra doesn't even know that god exist... Until now.

Because the gods are dying - and Cassandra could hold the answer to their survival. But Aidan has a secret of his own. He is really Apollo, god of the sun, and he will do anything to protect the girl he loves from the danger that's coming for her. Even if it means war against his immortal family...

By Robison Wells

Blackout will be released on the 11th of September.

Laura and Alec are trained terrorists.

Jack and Aubrey are high school students.

There was no reason for them to ever meet.

But now, a mysterious virus is spreading throughout America, infecting teenagers with impossible powers. And these four are about to find their lives intertwined in a complex web of deception, loyalty, and catastrophic danger - where one wrong choice could trigger an explosion that ends it all.

Once We Were
By Kat Zhang

Once We Were, the second book in The Hybrid Chronicles, will be released on the 17th of September.

Eva was never supposed to have survived this long. As the recessive soul, she should have faded away years ago. Instead, she lingers in the body she shares with her sister soul, Addie. When the government discovered the truth, they tried to “cure” the girls, but Eva and Addie escaped before the doctors could strip Eva’s soul away.

Now fugitives, Eva and Addie find shelter with a group of hybrids who run an underground resistance. Surrounded by others like them, the girls learn how to temporarily disappear to give each soul some much-needed privacy. Eva is thrilled at the chance to be alone with Ryan, the boy she’s falling for, but troubled by the growing chasm between her and Addie. Despite clashes over their shared body, both girls are eager to join the rebellion.

Yet as they are drawn deeper into the escalating violence, they start to wonder: How far are they willing to go to fight for hybrid freedom? Faced with uncertainty and incredible danger, their answers may tear them apart forever.

This Song Will Save Your Life
By Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life will be released on the 17th of September.

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

By Gretchen McNeil

3:59 will be released on the 17th of September.

Josie Byrne's life is spiraling out of control. Her parents are divorcing, her boyfriend Nick has grown distant, and her physics teacher has it in for her. When she's betrayed by the two people she trusts most, Josie thinks things can't get worse.

Until she starts having dreams about a girl named Jo. Every night at the same time - 3:59 a.m.

Jo's life is everything Josie wants: she's popular, her parents are happily married, and Nick adores her. It all seems real, but they're just dreams, right? Josie thinks so, until she wakes one night to a shadowy image of herself in the bedroom mirror - Jo. 

Josie and Jo realize that they are doppelgängers living in parallel universes that overlap every twelve hours at exactly 3:59. Fascinated by Jo's perfect world, Josie jumps at the chance to jump through the portal and switch places for a day.

Find Me
By Romily Bernard

Find Me will be released on the 24th of September.

"Find Me." These are the words written on Tessa Waye's diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa's just been found...dead.

Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide and seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target. Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick.

By Victoria Lamb

Witchstruck will be released on the 24th of September.

If she sink, she be no witch and shall be drowned.

If she float, she be a witch and must be hanged.

Meg Lytton has always known she is different - that she bears a dark and powerful gift. But in 1554 England, in service at Woodstock Palace to the banished Tudor princess Elizabeth, it has never been more dangerous to practice witchcraft. Meg knows she must guard her secret carefully from the many suspicious eyes watching over the princess and her companions. One wrong move could mean her life, and the life of Elizabeth, rightful heir to the English throne.

Have any of September 2013's New Releases caught your eye?

Click on the images below to check them out on Amazon!